The Tiananmen Square - Reisverslag uit Peking, China van Loes Hertogen - WaarBenJij.nu The Tiananmen Square - Reisverslag uit Peking, China van Loes Hertogen - WaarBenJij.nu

The Tiananmen Square

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Loes

11 Maart 2014 | China, Peking

It's the largest public square of the world (440.000 sq meters). During the Cultural Revolution Mao reviewed parades of up to a million people here.
In 1989 the army forced pro democracy demonstrators out of the square. Hundreds of them have been killed. But they say that those people have been killed somewhere near the square. And not at the square.
At the square in front of the flag I saw a lot of fire extinguishers. That was because in the 80's a lot of students (prodemocracy) burned themselves to demonstrate.

Early in the morning, at sunrise, you watch the flagraising ceremony. A troop of People's Liberation Army soldiers do this ceremony. The same ceremony in reverse is performed at sunset.

The place is very touristy, a lot of groups with their leader and his/her flag. Or groups who wore red hats. Very funny to see. We spend there about half an hour.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Loes

Ik ben Loes Hertogen en ik ben 21 jaar. Vorig schooljaar ben ik als MBO-Verpleegkundige afgestudeerd. Het afgelopen jaar heb ik fulltime in een horecabedrijf gewerkt om mijn geld voor mijn reis bij elkaar te sparen. Ik ga namelijk 06-04-2014 voor 3 maanden naar China en Thailand. Hier ga ik rondtrekken met een groep die bestaat uit mensen uit verschillende landen. De laatste drie weken van mijn reis ga ik vrijwilligerswerk doen in een weeshuis in Singburi te Thailand.

Actief sinds 05 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 168
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9296

Voorgaande reizen:

06 April 2014 - 25 Mei 2014

Het verre Oosten part II

06 Maart 2014 - 03 April 2014

Naar het Verre Oosten part I

Landen bezocht: